The Washington State Liqueur Control Board handed out the first of the retail marijuana facility licenses just a couple days ago, and today the first stores are opening their doors.
The state Liquor Control Board issued recreational licenses to the first 24 retailers, including Top Shelf, via email early Monday, July 7. The early-morning licensing allowed retailers to be able to sell pot starting at 8 a.m. Once the state issues a retailer a license, the grower-processor quarantines the pot meant for that store for 24 hours. When that period ends, the items can then be transported to the store to be inventoried and entered into the state’s computerized traceability system.
Pot prices were expected to reach $25 a gram or higher on the first day of sales — twice what people pay in the state’s unregulated medical marijuana dispensaries, according to The Associated Press. That was largely due to the short supply of legally produced pot in the state. Although more than 2,600 people applied to become licensed growers, fewer than 100 have been approved — and only about a dozen were ready to harvest this month.
Washington law allows the sale of up to an ounce of dried marijuana, 16 ounces of pot-infused solids, 72 ounces of pot-infused liquids or 7 grams of concentrated marijuana, like hashish, to adults over 21. Top Shelf, however, did not have any products for sale besides dried marijuana.